HomeGovernanceList of 47...

List of 47 Counties in Kenya and Their Headquarters

The 2010 Kenyan Constitution divided the country into 47 counties. Each county is headed by a governor, who the county’s residents elect. The counties act as administrative divisions of the country and provide local services such as healthcare, education, and infrastructure development.

Each county is further subdivided into constituencies and wards represented by MPs and MCAs.

Since implementing this new administrative structure, Kenya has seen an improvement in the delivery of services to its citizens. The devolved system of government has also led to a more equitable distribution of resources across the country.

List of 47 Counties in Kenya and Their Headquarters

Below is a list of the 47 counties in Kenya and their headquarters:

Code​​  County Name County Headquarters
1 Mombasa Mombasa City
2 Kwale Kwale
3 Kilifi Kilifi
4 Tana River Hola
5 Lamu Lamu
6 Taita–Taveta Mwatate
7 Garissa Garissa
8 Wajir Wajir
9 Mandera Mandera
10 Marsabit Marsabit
11 Isiolo Isiolo
12 Meru Meru
13 Tharaka-Nithi Kathwana
14 Embu Embu
15 Kitui Kitui
16 Machakos Machakos
17 Makueni Wote
18 Nyandarua Ol Kalou
19 Nyeri Nyeri
20 Kirinyaga Kerugoya
21 Murang’a Murang’a
22 Kiambu Kiambu
23 Turkana Lodwar
24 West Pokot Kapenguria
25 Samburu Maralal
26 Trans-Nzoia Kitale
27 Uasin Gishu Eldoret
28 Elgeyo-Marakwet Iten
29 Nandi Kapsabet
30 Baringo Kabarnet
31 Laikipia Nanyuki
32 Nakuru Nakuru City
33 Narok Narok
34 Kajiado Kajiado
35 Kericho Kericho
36 Bomet Bomet
37 Kakamega Kakamega
38 Vihiga Mbale
39 Bungoma Bungoma
40 Busia Busia
41 Siaya Siaya
42 Kisumu Kisumu City
43 Homa Bay Homa Bay
44 Migori Migori
45 Kisii Kisii
46 Nyamira Nyamira
47 Nairobi Nairobi City
Anne Katana
Anne Katana
I am a student of history. In my free time, I enjoy sharing my passion and experiences with people through blogging. I started this blog to educate and inspire people globally. So Welcome to Nasonga.


Continue reading

How to Get NSSF Number in Kenya

The National Social Security Fund was formed to cater to the security of Kenyans, and in this article, we will focus on how to get the NSSF number. The NSSF number protects Kenyan workers in both formal and informal...

7 Types of Passports in Kenya

Did you know that there are different types of passports in Kenya? This blog post will explore the different types of passports and their uses. We will also discuss the advantages and disadvantages of each type of passport. Stay...

How to Open a TIMS Account Online

If you want to open a TIMS account, you can do so online through the NTSA website. The process is simple and only takes a few minutes to complete. The NTSA TIMS account is an online self-service portal that enables...

How to Get a Smart Driving License in Kenya

In Kenya, getting a driver's license is a process that has been made easier with digital licenses. This article will outline the steps needed to get your smart driving license in Kenya. A digital driving license in Kenya or Smart...